March 22 | Kristy S. & Sue B.

16 thoughts on “March 22 | Kristy S. & Sue B.”

  1. Good morning! Thank you for the news. You work amid both sadness and joy, and are doing the very best you can with what you have, we know. Keep on! Here at home, buds on the lilacs are tiny green, no color other than that yet, leaves about the size of the width of a US quarter. Deeper fog on the river this morning, low clouds and mist early. A towboat’s pilot house would run above it with the tow itself obscured. Spring peepers are singing in the wetlands and in the trees on the ridge. They are delightful. (One spring, in a drying bog up north, they sang so loudly my ears began to hurt, and I had to back away!) Heard a first blue jay this morning, along with the expected singing of redwing blackbirds, robins, sparrow, and cardinals. The birders, used to snow, cold and wind this time of year, are probably feeling frantic with the foliage coming in so fast, and hiding the rare warblers and transients heading further north. Thousands of temperature records continue to fall as the warmth, ‘heat wave,’ in fact, according to the meteorologist, has a strong foothold in the 21 most northeastern states in the nation. Great to hear from you each day – best wishes and God bless, John

  2. Your stories bring tears to my eyes. What an expression of graciousness from all involved in this remarkable mission of hope, help, and support.

    Tell Sandy we have consistently had electricity here @ SCHM, but our computers went out. IS is “on-it.” Pharmacy hand-wrote Rxs last night. Our data entry will wait.

    All the best to all of you. Thanks for the heart-warming posts!
    Joni Heath

  3. It is so neat to hear your stories. We don’t appreciate all of the luxuries that we have here. The people that you are helping have nothing but they seem to be thankful for everything. God Bless you all.

  4. Even though you are not able to help in a physical manner sometimes, your care and sorrow are precious to Our Lord!

  5. I’m enjoying every story and you are all very special people. I can’t imagine the frustration of knowing you could help someone if the equipment was available. All of the cases you can do is a gift an I know very appreciated. I’m anxious to see pictures. Love to all, G-Ma Sue

  6. Wonderful to get an update on the goings on. So glad you are having success in your surgeries and are able to do so many other things to bless the community there. Loved the stories. Continued prayers…

  7. All of your entries are written so wonderfully I feel that I am there! You are all helping to make the world a better place and I thank you for that. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you.

  8. I sure enjoyed your stories. I know they all see God through your loving tender care. may god bless each of you
    rlene o’loughlin

  9. Ditto with tears like Ms. Heath mentioned earlier. The expressions of thankfulness and faith in God are much appreciated. May God richly bless you all who are serving with the GL team. I’d like to send a special shout-out to Jeff; I am equal parts saddened and overjoyed with no leader’s meeting tomorrow :).

  10. Those were very touching stories… Everyone there are amazing people and should be proud of what they are doing. It’s people like you that are making the world a better place. Way to go Dad! You showed that wasp a lesson.:) And you’re incredible helping people out. Mom and Hannah, I bet the school was really neat. Wish I could have seen instead of being in here in school. Anyways, the blogs are really entertaining and I can just picture everything there. Great job to everyone that is there, my prayers go out to all of you.

  11. I am saddened to hear of those you could not operate on due to the severity of their condition. I will be praying for their healing, and hope you all are praying with them for healing also. God bless all of you.

  12. For some “strange” reason, I thought of all of you as I read the daily devotional I received from our Campus Minister who just returned from a student “mission trip” to the Crow Indian reservation. I hope you don’t mind that I share this with you!

    “There is much wisdom to be gained from the Native American experience of God. ….A bit of wisdom from a Lakota holy man, Nicholas Black Elk:

    “I was standing on the highest mountain of them all, and round about beneath me was the whole hoop of the world. And while I stood there I saw more that I can tell and I understood more than I saw; for I was seeing in a sacred manner the shapes of all things in the spirit, and the shape of all shapes as they must live together like one being. And I saw that the sacred hoop of my people was one of the many hoops that made one circle, wide as daylight and as starlight, and in the center grew one mighty flowering tree to shelter all children of one mother and one father. And I saw that it was holy.”

    This made a lot of “sense” of God’s work that you are doing as I read YOUR
    account of how disappointed you were you couldn’t do MORE !! You WILL be Blessed !!!

  13. God bless all of you!!! I am reading your daily logs with great fascination and admiration! I connected with your link via Dr. Mike Garrity, a friend of ours here in Prairie du Chien. Also, my sister is Mary Dudley whom some of you may know. Your stories are so very interesting and familiar as my husband and I go to Peru each year with a surgical team. Africa is such fascinating place and I love the warm and friendliness of the people; just returned from Uganda in January with a native who is a nun and NP we met via Viterbo. Mary Dudley talked me into doing Kilimanjaro next January with some other WI people…….so your location is especially interesting to me. I wish you the very best as you share your skills, talents and love! May your remaining days be safe and successful.

  14. The stories are amazing…there are so many things here we take for granted, definately humbles a person to read your posts…! I pray for everyone there…you’re doing a wonderful thing for the people of Tanzania!!

  15. I finally have had time to read all your blog!! I’m on call in Black River, Wisconsin and Dr. Kitowski has kept it nice and quiet so I can get caught up on all of you!! It all sound so familiar and makes me wish I had been with you again. I definitely want to return and use the “new” OR, so maybe after our trek of Kilimanjaro –if I survive–I will return with my sister for a surgical mission. God Bless all of you!! Mary Dudley

Leave a Reply

