Monday 3/3 | Deb

18 thoughts on “Monday 3/3 | Deb”

  1. Reading your day adventures while sitting in BPR’s and thinking you are having more excitement:-) Wonderful work, rat aside, Deb good for you holding your ground! We miss all of you, praying for your safety and great healing work! Kathy

    1. Great job Team Gundersen! Your energy, compassion, and joy win every day! Sorry about the rat…teach the next one how to hole a retractor and be at least somewhat useful!! Love to all!!

  2. Greetings from Surgery Clinic, keep the posts and pictures coming. Enjoy hearing from all of you. Dr Sig and Abe, share a great story with us. Blessings to all, keep up the great work. Noreen

  3. I am loving reading your blog posts each day! Keeping a sense of humor – and an eye out for rodents – seems necessary on this trip! Thank you for sharing experiences from the heart as well. The story about the 30 year old woman was especially touching, in part because the human emotion crosses language and cultural lines… in part because it was a window into the compassion displayed by the team. Keep up the great work.
    And FYI – Global Partners won’t even start for another 3 years according to your calendar, so you may need to check your liability coverage… 🙂

  4. You know how people come out of a performance or movie saying, “I laughed, I cried…” Well, I’ve never done that, but your post had me doing both. The picture of my wife “moving her feet up and down at a very rapid pace” had me laughing so hard I actually had to wipe away tears. She has an intense phobia of rats, and if she hasn’t told you about it, ask her about her experience with rats in India. Especially one exceptionally cheeky little bugger who wasn’t afraid of anything. Thanks for writing such a heartfelt, funny, and descriptive post.

  5. Thank you so much for the detailed notes, it makes me feel like I am with you. We are praying for your safety and successful medical endeavors!! For a bit of contrast we are having ice carvings, huge sculptures, being created now, so you know it is below freezing!! Too cold for rats:)

  6. You don’t know me but i am a long time friend of Cheryl’s (and Cindy’s) from Door County. I am privileged and honored that Cheryl has shared with me the opportunity to read the daily blogs of your amazing trip/mission. What a true “labor of love” you are doing for these people of Ethiopia! I so enjoy reading your stories. I have already laughed….and cried. I can just picture Cheryl sewing away and being in the presence of the children. She must be loving it! I will continue to keep all of you in my thoughts and prayers and look forward to reading of your further adventures!!

  7. Abe – all is well at home. Izzie misses you a lot; last night she was saying, “My papa is the best ever.” Looking forward to your Dad coming on Friday.

  8. Reading the posts are heart breaking and fascinating. It’s almost as if I am with you! Keep up the amazing work and God bless all of you!
    Susan
    ps… please bring back some warm weather when you return home! 🙂

  9. great job on the write up, just remember…rats gotta eat too.

    A note to Abe: Martin Buser is leading the pack up around Nicholi, they just went thru 70 miles of gravel and frozen tussocks and are back on some snow apparently.
    I’m trying to talk John and Shannon into letting me bring Lily down to visit Iz while Paula is there.
    Take care, best to you all.

    lg

  10. I felt the same way Rick did after reading Deb’s post. I laughed, I cried, I was moved. I am envisioning the scenes with the laughing school children to the fainting nurse to hope in the 30 year old woman’s eyes. No doubt each work-filled day is accompanied with many types of emotions. I am anxious to hear more about the food. Injera and wat. What? I’m so glad that the news team is witnessing all you do. Many people here at home know you are there but have no idea what it involves. Now they will. Thank you for taking the time to write these great blogs.

  11. Oh the famous rodents are everywhere! Strong work ladies, no one was bitten! The memories of the fresh roasted coffee, wonderful injera and smiling children make me wish I was there again. Have a grand adventure, hugs those beautiful people for me and I will keep your work and safety in my prayers. ( If the power didn’t fade now and then, it would not be an authentic medical mission!!).

  12. Deb,
    We have a patient here with a stage 4A cancer of the throat. She is from Florida and comes to us because her husband was treated here and because she sponsors our basic cancer research efforts. She is mid-way through her treatments and just lost most of her ability to speak. She loves Gundersen and is so proud of what we do. Dr. Sig sat with her last Tuesday during her chemo treatment.

    This morning driving in I was thinking what I could do when I went to spend time with her today during her chemo. Hold her hand – for certain. Then I thought, maybe I could bring something to read to her but what? Certainly not Simon Shelley’s most recent publication in the British Journal of Cancer! Then I saw your blog – it will be perfect! Heading over to her chemo suite now and know she will smile with your delightful words and story.

    Be safe.
    Phil

  13. Sounds like some full days & wonderful memories. We will keep praying for you, that the Lord will give you wisdom, strength & ability to keep up the good job.

  14. I think there was a blog post in the 5th century BC that said…”
    Cure sometimes, treat often, comfort always.”

    Hippocrates

    We will do what we can…one important person at a time.
    thanks for serving

    Jeff

  15. What a day there! Everybody in IS knows you’re tougher than any rat, Deb, but it’s nice to have confirmation. : – )

    Thank you for all the interesting detail. We can imagine the conditions, the people, the garden and the food — which sounds delightful — the appreciative people, and indeed, the poignancy and sadness of working where healthcare is far less available to help patients early with serious illness. You are changing lives there daily, and for good, even when you would like to do more.

    Back here at home, we’ve another inch or so of new snow early this morning quietly lacing the spruce and cedar boughs outside my window. While trudging with the dogs late yesterday, I could hear the merry cardinals singing their early spring songs, (and when I stopped to listen) amid the tiny pips of foraging finches, and the ever boisterous chatter of sparrows. On Monday, the — did E.A. Poe coin this? — ‘murder’ of crows hanging out Friday near the Onalaska campus had moved on, and did not that day scavenge the broken apple core left for them. Slim pick-ens in a long winter. The bright sunshine of the bitter cold is now obscured by low clouds far more March-like, yet still 25 degrees colder at 14F. This, of course, makes your sojourn under a warm African sun even more appealing to us with freezing drizzle pending in the next day or so. What is the Amharic phrase for “freezing drizzle?” : – )

    Thank you for all your hard work and long travel and sacrifice. Keep on!

    John

  16. Deb and team, love reading your blog posts! My heart is touched by how you are helping and giving of yourselves to people in such need. That is a true servant. Bless all of you!

Leave a Reply

