Thursday 3/6 | Mark, Jacky, Jeff, Sally

6 thoughts on “Thursday 3/6 | Mark, Jacky, Jeff, Sally”

  1. Thanks for all the news, you’re a bunch of talented writers among your other impressive skills! I wonder what questions the locals have for you about where you’re from.?

    Update for Abe on the Iditarod..Buser was ahead but now I see this morning Aliy Zirkle has pulled ahead, They’re well past the halfway mark now. Jeff King was first into Ruby and got a 5-7 course meal for his efforts, Aaron Burmeister got the halfway award of 3G’s of gold nuggets. So this morning it’s Zirkle, Buser, Burmeister,King and Sonny Lindner in that order headed for Galena.
    In case you’re wondering why Abe needs to keep up on this info, other than it’s so much fun to follow, he needs to be able to pass the yearly Alaskana test to be eligible for the PFD.

    24 deg, clear and windy here this am, John and Shannon and all are coming up today so we can go ice fishing this weekend.

    Take care you all, thanks for the letters.

    lg

  2. Greetings to all of you! I have so enjoyed reading your posts and learning of your joys and memories. What a difference you are making! I’m sure you’ll have stories to share and are making life-long friends. I have a quick story to share….Cheryl, this is for you. Yesterday, I was in my office meeting with a colleague when my phone rang and I saw it was the main ext. of the Foundation. I thought I should take the call. Pam, our receptionist, told me it was C. Vieth. I heard “Cheryl Vieth!” My colleague sitting here told me my face went blank, eyes big and mouth fell open…I thought to myself, “why is Cheryl calling me from Ethopia? Do they have phones? Is she really calling me to tell me which night of Heritage she wants to volunteer for?” Well, I collected myself and had a lovely conversation with your sister Cindy. I told her the story and she was laughing so hard! We are praying for all of you. Enjoy the time that remains. Dr. Sig, can’t wait to see your photos and hear stories! All is well at the Foundation!

  3. Abe- your Dad made it here safely today. He found a super excited granddaughter waiting for him. Charlie Stripes died last night; Izzie said he was in fish heaven. Miss you.

  4. Greetings, and many thanks for all the news, stories, and fascinating detail from your work in Yetebon! We look forward to your near daily posts, and wonder if you are without electricity when one doesn’t come through.

    This Saturday morning I’m writing from 250 miles downriver, just north of Nauvoo, IL, visiting my dad, and now looking out across a wide, very gray frozen expanse of Mississippi River, patchy with a few snow drifts remaining after 50+F temperatures yesterday. The Iowa side is a wide darker gray line of trees, just below a near mirror of the ice in the gray mist of sky above. It’s like a neutral canvas waiting quietly for the color of sun and spring to make it brilliant and vibrant. Dad said he saw nearly a thousand Canada geese resting in a field near town yesterday. I watch a pair of swan V’s heading upriver with their hooting calls seeming to remind themselves to maintain the formation. With the forecast of sun, a southwest breeze, and more 50’s tomorrow, there will be no stopping springtime’s rush northward. The river ice will begin to groan and move, and wind-stack its slabs along the Iowa and Illinois banks until the melt turns it to long chiming needles that score the end of the winter song.

    We are heading for the funeral of Frederic Roules, MD, of Mediapolis, Iowa this morning, an undergrad classmate of my parents at Parsons College in Fairfield, and a family physician (U of Iowa ’54, and Broadlawns in Des Moines) in Mediapolis from 1955 until 1993, when he retired. His daughter Christine and my sister Deanne went to Cornell College together, and now Chris teaches in Shanghai, and Deanne is a librarian in Dubai. Chris came to Mom’s funeral, yet today we are representing Deanne. A small world in the countless circles of life.

    Thank you again for all your had work there, and sacrifice, and your focus on the patients and people at hand. You make us proud to know you.

    John

  5. Thanks for sharing all your experiences. I’ve worked with some of you, so know you’re doing a great job. Some stories and comments too funny.

  6. Thinking of you from our little corner of the world! The lives you’ve touched and are yet to touch will be forever blessed by the kindness and sacrifices you all have made. Your servant hearts are admirable. We have enjoyed reading your posts as a family and find much encouragement in your words. Thanks for reflecting on how these East Africans are in many ways less fortunate than us and yet in surprising and sometimes unexpected ways, so much more fortunate. We are praying for your mission and it’s inherent challenges!

    “For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

    Blessings to you all! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you -now, or upon your transitions home!

    Any plans to raft the Nile before heading back???

Leave a Reply

