Feb. 21 | Deb Rislow

12 thoughts on “Feb. 21 | Deb Rislow”

  1. I laughed about the part when you showed the man our dogs lol. I bet that does look kinda weird to them! They are pretty lazy most of the day. The coffee ceremony also sounds interesting too. I’m curious as to how the coffee tastes by the end-sounds like it must taste good! Hope you enjoy more sight seeing. Mark and I say hi! -Emma

  2. Deb, your blog post is very interesting. I had to chuckle a few times about the dogs….especially about the part that your Corgi doesn’t really have legs but huge ears! When I was in Ethiopia adopting the children we were strictly told never to mention dogs or show any pictures of our dogs to the biological parents. They were very adamant about it. I really wanted to show pics of my white fluffy dogs (Bichons) as I got to know people very well but I never did broach the topic. We wanted to make sure our kids would come home with us!
    I did see many dogs running through the cities and we were told many stories of hyenas coming into town at nighttime.
    I remember the coffee ceremonies as well. Do you have popcorn at your ceremonies? We had popcorn with each ceremony and sat on very small chairs and drank from tiny cups.
    It is fun to recall the memories. It sounds like you are well, enjoying your time and are engaged in wonderful work. Looking forward to hearing more.

  3. Great to read all the blogs. I laughed out loud at the take a deep breath story. I didn’t think anything could beat Jackie story but I think this takes the prize. Praying for energy and focus for your busy week ahead. Remember everything you do no matter how small makes a real difference in the lives of those you serve. Blessings.

  4. Thank you all for sharing your stories and adventures! What a beautiful, rugged country! One doesn’t always think of trees overpowering rocks, but they can and do – it just takes time. And what’s time to a rock? Glad everything is turning out alright in the end, too. Mercy! Dogs are such a part of most human history and culture. One wonders what happened in Ethiopia to make them less so. Perhaps the exploits of Africa’s wild dogs or hyenas? Rather than ‘asking’ for a favorite rawhide this morning, our Springer went to lay down by my dad’s bed, where he continued to sleep in. At 92, he’s got a best friend, to be sure. You must be gearing up for another full clinic day tomorrow, and have perhaps been to church today. Us, too. Yesterday, after a consistently gray day here, calm, and even in the mid-30sF, we saw a huge red-orange-pink ball sun fall below the cloud cover momentarily as the horizon spun toward night. It almost seemed to pulsate with the shifting atmosphere. Such is the flatland and prairie, cut by the big river’s tributaries, hills and bluffs, miles upon miles wide. Also saw a pair of bald eagles kettling low over the gray ice, looping and cavorting together in a welcome sight, a very early spring dance. After a bit, they landed on the ice, were joined by two others, and do what eagles do when they gather on ice. Looks like 0F and -20sF windchills in the Driftless Region today, winds NW at 17, gusts to 24mph. So there you go, see what you’re missing? : -) Keep on, and many thanks! John

    1. Farley: I knew you would be swamped. What an opportunity to reach the people of project mercy at their point of need.
      Jacobs

  5. Thanks for all the updates, team 2, including everybody’s BM…TMI,TMI, I just finished my supper…

    Anyway, waiting to hear from the mountain hikers to see how much further and faster they make this year. I can definitely see how the Farley’s can become so popular around here. I intubated someone last week with a 2nd roll of upper teeth! They were totally misaligned.

    Glad to hear everyone is doing well though, minus the BM part…looking forward to all the stories. God bless.

    “This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad.” Psalm 118:24

  6. Thanks for the post, it’s interesting to see how a simple conversation about dogs can give insight to the diffences in culture. Sounds like you are having a great time. Minus 15 degrees here this morning, so I’m sure you can’t wait to get back

  7. ah….us and our pets. I can believe it would be very foreign for them. I am also sure that your family of pets are missing you (and your Emma and Rosie too!!)

  8. Team Number Two. Thank you for your interesting and entertaining posts. Hey, there’s no HIPAA there, right? We want to know who’s pooping and who is not! Seriously though, I hope your intestinal woes will soon be behind you.

  9. Thank you for sharing your stories. Love hearing about all of the cultural differences and similarities. Everyone should take the time to step out of their comfort zone and experience another culture. I’m so proud of all of the work you are doing out there, and I hope the week continues to go well 🙂 Andy and Dakota (both lounging on the couch as I type this haha) say hello!

  10. Team Number Two. So happy to hear that everything is going well for you. (except for the BM problems). The descriptions of your surroundings and the cultural differences are very interesting. I especially liked the story about the dogs staying outside. I have three dogs at home that keep me quite entertained, and they don’t know how easy they have it.
    So glad to hear that you are keeping Dr. Farley and Laura busy. He IS a rock star in the Prosthodontic Department!!! I hope that you can take some pictures of all of the interesting dental cases that you see.
    Thanks for all that you are doing:)

  11. Great stories of your adventures! It must be so interesting to try and balance the cultural differences. I hope you are enjoying your time, and thanks for all the blogs..its almost like we get to all go too.

Leave a Reply

